You are not logged in.

Dear visitor, welcome to Fortuner 4x4 Fans. If this is your first visit here, please read the Help. It explains in detail how this page works. To use all features of this page, you should consider registering. Please use the registration form, to register here or read more information about the registration process. If you are already registered, please login here.

Yugeng

Beginner

  • "Yugeng" started this thread

Posts: 23

Date of registration: Aug 11th 2017

Location: Durban

Car: 2014 fortuner

Level: 18 [?]

Experience: 14,998

Next Level: 17,484

  • Send private message

1

Tuesday, September 26th 2017, 3:45pm

Chip or Software

Hi all
looking for some advise on my FT
i currently have a Diesel torque chip, last night i removed it and felt no difference at all
I'd like to see what the other options are,
right now i am deciding whether to go with a unichip or to get the software done.

does anyone have experience with both software and chip - which would you recommend.
lastly i'd like to do the to get the best fuel economy out of this change

observer

Trainee

Posts: 113

Date of registration: Dec 18th 2012

Level: 30 [?]

Experience: 265,463

Next Level: 300,073

  • Send private message

2

Tuesday, September 26th 2017, 5:44pm

I've used Unichip on both my Fortuners. The tech and tuning ability is much more advanced than most other plug and play units.
Just make sure you go to a well recognized Unichip tuner to do a proper job.

I have not heard of anyone that could do a remap of the OEM ECU on a3.0 D4D Fortuner
2017 Toyota Fortuner 2.8 GD6 4x4 iMT

2016 Hyundai Tucson 1.6 T-GDi

Garreth G

Professional

Posts: 769

Date of registration: Oct 5th 2015

Location: West-Rand

Car: Toyota Fortuner 3.0 D-4D Isuzu KB320 Frontier

Level: 37 [?]

Experience: 1,021,967

Next Level: 1,209,937

  • Send private message

3

Tuesday, September 26th 2017, 9:31pm

I'd go to Dastek in PTA for a Uni Chip.

You can also try Jnes in potch for a remap.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Mahesh

Beginner

Posts: 20

Date of registration: Jul 26th 2017

Location: Durbanville

Car: ForTuna 4x4

Level: 18 [?]

Experience: 13,363

Next Level: 17,484

  • Send private message

4

Thursday, September 28th 2017, 8:42pm

I ran a race chip pro2 on my hilux and had rangers for lunch. Made it feel like a totally different vehicle. However wiring was getting brittle near the common rail due to heat. If find the right guy they can remap the ecu with same or better outputs than plug and play.
Consumption 10.5L/100km

Posts: 118

Date of registration: Oct 25th 2014

Location: Doornpoort Pretoria

Car: Toyota Fortuner 3.0 D4D 4x4

Level: 29 [?]

Experience: 197,423

Next Level: 242,754

  • Send private message

5

Friday, September 29th 2017, 8:54am

I'd go to Dastek in PTA for a Uni Chip.

You can also try Jnes in potch for a remap.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Agree or use SAC in Midrand.

Loafer

Beginner

Posts: 12

Date of registration: Aug 16th 2018

Location: Cape Town

Occupation: Retired

Car: Fortuner D4D 4X4 A/T

Level: 13 [?]

Experience: 3,390

Next Level: 4,033

  • Send private message

6

Saturday, August 25th 2018, 1:30pm

I will be hesitant to re-map or chip a vehicle if I intend keeping it for a long time. If it was such a good idea why do they not come out the factory mapped to give the higher output? The Prado uses the same engine as the Fortuner, but is mapped to give a higher output. If you ask around you will find that many Prados crack piston heads caused by heat. Certain manufacturers' newer engines allow over fuelling (which amongst other things the chip does) to be facilitated for up to 10 seconds for when performance is needed, but after 10 seconds it reverts back to normal, before heat can cause damage.

Rate this thread