You are not logged in.

Dear visitor, welcome to Fortuner 4x4 Fans. If this is your first visit here, please read the Help. It explains in detail how this page works. To use all features of this page, you should consider registering. Please use the registration form, to register here or read more information about the registration process. If you are already registered, please login here.

gduane

Beginner

  • "gduane" started this thread

Posts: 16

Date of registration: Jul 17th 2017

Location: Salt Rock

Car: 2013 Fortuner D4D 4x4

Level: 12 [?]

Experience: 2,362

Next Level: 2,912

  • Send private message

1

Tuesday, December 5th 2017, 3:44pm

Mains into back of Tuner?

Has anyone run a permanent mains cable into the back of their Fortuner? I want to be able to plug a mains cable under the car - into a jack that then runs to my fridge. So that I don't have to run a cable through a window or door during the night. Where would you run this cable? I'm guessing its a bad idea to use the fuel port?

PRA

Intermediate

Posts: 338

Date of registration: Dec 19th 2012

Location: Harties

Car: Fortuner D4D 4x4

Level: 34 [?]

Experience: 614,677

Next Level: 677,567

  • Send private message

2

Tuesday, December 5th 2017, 3:54pm

Mains as in 220Vac??
Stones, dust , water, mud!!
I wouldn't do that.

I have an extension cord for mains supply to my fridge.
I run it out the back door and close the door on it.
The door seals accommodate the cord with no damage.
When not in use I roll up the cord and store it on the side of the fridge.

I have been doing this since 2008 with no issues or problems.

AmadaXtreme

Commercial Member

Posts: 1,209

Date of registration: Jul 25th 2013

Location: Centurion

Car: Fortuner d4d 4x4

Level: 40 [?]

Experience: 1,934,958

Next Level: 2,111,327

  • Send private message

3

Wednesday, December 6th 2017, 6:56am

For 220v.... I would not install a permanent plug below the vehicle, use a thin cord and through the rear door - I have done this and closed the rear door with the cord pressed against the door rubbers, there is enough space for a thin 220v cord. Your fridge does not draw high amps, so these cheap cord will no fine.

Second option is to fit a dual battery to have a second battery to run the fridge through the night
AmadaXtreme Suspensions
Diamond Park nr2, 86 Jakaranda Str, Hennopspark, Centurion
S25°51'50.2 E28°09'58.2

Cobus 071 641 7947 cobus@amadaxtreme.co.za

Jimmy M

Beginner

Posts: 17

Date of registration: Jan 31st 2017

Location: Montana, Pretoria

Car: 2017 Fortuner GD-6 4x4 Auto

Level: 14 [?]

Experience: 5,347

Next Level: 5,517

  • Send private message

4

Wednesday, December 6th 2017, 10:59am

I did exactly what you're thinking of on my LandCruiser. I used the same plug that is used for supplying power to caravans. It works like a dream. Just have to be careful not to get confused when coupling your trailer or caravan. I will be installing the same thing in my Fortuner early in the new year.

AmadaXtreme

Commercial Member

Posts: 1,209

Date of registration: Jul 25th 2013

Location: Centurion

Car: Fortuner d4d 4x4

Level: 40 [?]

Experience: 1,934,958

Next Level: 2,111,327

  • Send private message

5

Wednesday, December 6th 2017, 1:56pm

True, one can do that. You get different colours these days, grey, red, yellow and green - they only fit colour on colour - thus use a different colour for the 12 & 220V
AmadaXtreme has attached the following images:
  • EEFR123_432_432_s_c1.jpg
  • 50a-heavy-duty-connector-block-blue.jpg
  • 50a-heavy-duty-connector-block-yellow.jpg
AmadaXtreme Suspensions
Diamond Park nr2, 86 Jakaranda Str, Hennopspark, Centurion
S25°51'50.2 E28°09'58.2

Cobus 071 641 7947 cobus@amadaxtreme.co.za

PRA

Intermediate

Posts: 338

Date of registration: Dec 19th 2012

Location: Harties

Car: Fortuner D4D 4x4

Level: 34 [?]

Experience: 614,677

Next Level: 677,567

  • Send private message

6

Thursday, December 7th 2017, 8:16am

True, one can do that. You get different colours these days, grey, red, yellow and green - they only fit colour on colour - thus use a different colour for the 12 & 220V


Whoa! Whoa! Whoa!
You MUST NOT use Brad Harrison (or similar) plugs for mains voltages - maximum 48V!!

AJ Venter

Trainee

Posts: 96

Date of registration: Apr 29th 2015

Location: Swakopmund

Occupation: Electrician

Car: Fortuner D4D 4x4

Level: 25 [?]

Experience: 91,901

Next Level: 100,000

  • Send private message

7

Thursday, December 7th 2017, 9:09am

That is true PRA, be carefull what type of plugs you use. The Brad Harrison is not rated for 220V AC.
The problem will hit when the Fortuner change into ashes then the assurance might have an problem.
:nono: :grumble:

This post has been edited 1 times, last edit by "AJ Venter" (Dec 7th 2017, 9:14am)


Erik

Trainee

Posts: 113

Date of registration: Jan 14th 2015

Location: Rustenburg, South Africa

Car: 2007 3.0 Fortuner

Level: 26 [?]

Experience: 120,067

Next Level: 125,609

  • Send private message

8

Thursday, December 7th 2017, 9:15am



I would suggest one of these. Dont know if they can be submerged though?
Erik has attached the following image:
  • 41ZvAJp0bOL.jpg

AJ Venter

Trainee

Posts: 96

Date of registration: Apr 29th 2015

Location: Swakopmund

Occupation: Electrician

Car: Fortuner D4D 4x4

Level: 25 [?]

Experience: 91,901

Next Level: 100,000

  • Send private message

9

Thursday, December 7th 2017, 9:21am

That is the better choice.
Erik it is not waterproof, not submerge, but when in use and raining, or washing vehicle you will not have any problems. They are rated IP44 and is okay. We are using them on the mine and with all the water spray and mud we do not have any trips or shorts.

This post has been edited 1 times, last edit by "AJ Venter" (Dec 7th 2017, 2:52pm)


Stekel

Intermediate

Posts: 176

Date of registration: Mar 24th 2015

Location: Roodepoort

Car: 2010 Fortuner 4x4 3.0D4D

Level: 28 [?]

Experience: 174,830

Next Level: 195,661

  • Send private message

10

Thursday, December 7th 2017, 2:28pm

Voltex sells this one. Its IP67 (can be submerged for short periods).
I would also use a HO7 rubber cable as it cab handle the vibration. Also install a fuse in line for protection.
Stekel has attached the following image:
  • plug.png

AJ Venter

Trainee

Posts: 96

Date of registration: Apr 29th 2015

Location: Swakopmund

Occupation: Electrician

Car: Fortuner D4D 4x4

Level: 25 [?]

Experience: 91,901

Next Level: 100,000

  • Send private message

11

Thursday, December 7th 2017, 2:54pm

Stekel that is perfect one.Remember I am in the far behind country. :vain:

This post has been edited 1 times, last edit by "AJ Venter" (Dec 7th 2017, 2:59pm)


AmadaXtreme

Commercial Member

Posts: 1,209

Date of registration: Jul 25th 2013

Location: Centurion

Car: Fortuner d4d 4x4

Level: 40 [?]

Experience: 1,934,958

Next Level: 2,111,327

  • Send private message

12

Friday, December 8th 2017, 8:31am

True, one can do that. You get different colours these days, grey, red, yellow and green - they only fit colour on colour - thus use a different colour for the 12 & 220V


Whoa! Whoa! Whoa!
You MUST NOT use Brad Harrison (or similar) plugs for mains voltages - maximum 48V!!


Darn...

One lesson to learn... when it comes to electronics... dont believe a word I am saying!
AmadaXtreme Suspensions
Diamond Park nr2, 86 Jakaranda Str, Hennopspark, Centurion
S25°51'50.2 E28°09'58.2

Cobus 071 641 7947 cobus@amadaxtreme.co.za

AmadaXtreme

Commercial Member

Posts: 1,209

Date of registration: Jul 25th 2013

Location: Centurion

Car: Fortuner d4d 4x4

Level: 40 [?]

Experience: 1,934,958

Next Level: 2,111,327

  • Send private message

13

Today, 8:34am

I had a look at my connectors this weekend, as per the connector specs are 600V & 50amps
AmadaXtreme has attached the following images:
  • 20171209_074331 (600x800).jpg
  • Specs.jpg
AmadaXtreme Suspensions
Diamond Park nr2, 86 Jakaranda Str, Hennopspark, Centurion
S25°51'50.2 E28°09'58.2

Cobus 071 641 7947 cobus@amadaxtreme.co.za

Similar threads

Rate this thread