You are not logged in.

Dear visitor, welcome to Fortuner 4x4 Fans. If this is your first visit here, please read the Help. It explains in detail how this page works. To use all features of this page, you should consider registering. Please use the registration form, to register here or read more information about the registration process. If you are already registered, please login here.

PRA

Intermediate

  • "PRA" started this thread

Posts: 359

Date of registration: Dec 19th 2012

Location: Harties

Car: Fortuner D4D 4x4

Level: 35 [?]

Experience: 764,096

Next Level: 824,290

  • Send private message

1

Saturday, September 15th 2018, 7:09am

Fortuner handbrake warning light wiring

Help please.

I have a Ft 3.0 d4D.

I need to find the wire that runs from the handbrake switch to the dash cluster for the ‘Handbrake On’ warning light.

Does anyone know the colour of this wire and where to find it at the dash?

Alternatively do you know where I can get a wiring diagram that shows the handbrake warning light wiring?

Thanks.

PRA

Intermediate

  • "PRA" started this thread

Posts: 359

Date of registration: Dec 19th 2012

Location: Harties

Car: Fortuner D4D 4x4

Level: 35 [?]

Experience: 764,096

Next Level: 824,290

  • Send private message

2

Saturday, September 15th 2018, 4:11pm

Done & dusted!

I fitted a buzzer to the wiring between the handbrake switch and +12Vign and voilà - works like a charm.

Buzzer sounds when the the ignition switch is in the Ign position and the handbrake is not fully released.

No buzzer if the switch is in the Aux position.

Just what I wanted.

It just so happens (on a Fortuner D4d) that the +12Vign and the handbrake switch wires are next to each other on one of the plugs & sockets right under the steering wheel.

Erik

Trainee

Posts: 165

Date of registration: Jan 14th 2015

Location: Rustenburg, South Africa

Car: 2007 3.0 Fortuner

Level: 29 [?]

Experience: 226,441

Next Level: 242,754

  • Send private message

3

Monday, September 17th 2018, 8:09am

There should be a light on your dashboard?

AmadaXtreme

Commercial Member

Posts: 1,308

Date of registration: Jul 25th 2013

Location: Centurion

Car: Fortuner d4d 4x4

Level: 41 [?]

Experience: 2,498,665

Next Level: 2,530,022

  • Send private message

4

Tuesday, September 18th 2018, 9:24am

I would have guessed maybe your brake fluid is low...
AmadaXtreme Suspensions
Diamond Park nr2, 86 Jakaranda Str, Hennopspark, Centurion
S25°51'50.2 E28°09'58.2

Cobus 071 641 7947 cobus@amadaxtreme.co.za

PRA

Intermediate

  • "PRA" started this thread

Posts: 359

Date of registration: Dec 19th 2012

Location: Harties

Car: Fortuner D4D 4x4

Level: 35 [?]

Experience: 764,096

Next Level: 824,290

  • Send private message

5

Thursday, September 20th 2018, 7:10am

There is a light on the dashboard.
In rough offroad situations I don’t always see the handbrake idiot light so I wanted and audible warning.
This does the job for me.

PRA

Intermediate

  • "PRA" started this thread

Posts: 359

Date of registration: Dec 19th 2012

Location: Harties

Car: Fortuner D4D 4x4

Level: 35 [?]

Experience: 764,096

Next Level: 824,290

  • Send private message

6

Thursday, September 20th 2018, 7:14am

I would have guessed maybe your brake fluid is low...

Hi AX,
Not sure what you mean?

Breekbeen

Intermediate

Posts: 416

Date of registration: Jul 6th 2015

Location: Paarl

Occupation: Farm manager

Car: '10 Fortuner 3.0 d4d 4x4

Level: 33 [?]

Experience: 498,739

Next Level: 555,345

  • Send private message

7

Thursday, September 20th 2018, 1:50pm

Quoted

There is a light on the dashboard.
In rough offroad situations I don’t always see the handbrake idiot light so I wanted and audible warning.
This does the job for me.
I think they misunderstood your post.
You just want a alarm with your light.
There is no problem with the light or handbrake.

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk
2010 3.0 D4D 4x4
OME, ARB bullbar, SNORKEL, T-Max Winch, African Outback Roof rack,
KC Hilights, Dastec Unichip

Erik

Trainee

Posts: 165

Date of registration: Jan 14th 2015

Location: Rustenburg, South Africa

Car: 2007 3.0 Fortuner

Level: 29 [?]

Experience: 226,441

Next Level: 242,754

  • Send private message

8

Thursday, September 20th 2018, 2:20pm

And every time you apply the handbrake with the engine running it will make a noise. Could be rather annoying.

PRA

Intermediate

  • "PRA" started this thread

Posts: 359

Date of registration: Dec 19th 2012

Location: Harties

Car: Fortuner D4D 4x4

Level: 35 [?]

Experience: 764,096

Next Level: 824,290

  • Send private message

9

Thursday, September 20th 2018, 10:48pm

And every time you apply the handbrake with the engine running it will make a noise. Could be rather annoying.


May not work for you but it certainly works for me!

Similar threads

Rate this thread