You are not logged in.

Dear visitor, welcome to Fortuner 4x4 Fans. If this is your first visit here, please read the Help. It explains in detail how this page works. To use all features of this page, you should consider registering. Please use the registration form, to register here or read more information about the registration process. If you are already registered, please login here.

smitfs32

Beginner

  • "smitfs32" started this thread

Posts: 2

Date of registration: Jan 2nd 2016

Location: Cape Town

Car: Fortuner 2.5

Level: 12 [?]

Experience: 2,598

Next Level: 2,912

  • Send private message

1

Saturday, January 2nd 2016, 2:16pm

Fortuner chip

Hi All,

New to this forum. i have 2013 Fortuner 2.5D
There are so many chips available.. racechip,dastek,dieseltorque,unichip.. does anyone have recommendation that works best for 2.5?

Thanks all
Francois

Guava

Intermediate

Posts: 277

Date of registration: Apr 5th 2014

Location: Pretoria - Montana Park

Occupation: I.T.

Car: Fortuner 2.5 D Auto. 4 Wiele, Exhaust En n Stuurwiel.

Level: 33 [?]

Experience: 536,156

Next Level: 555,345

  • Send private message

2

Saturday, January 2nd 2016, 3:10pm

Hi.

Welcome.
I would also like to see the experts response.

Posts: 4,263

Date of registration: Feb 13th 2014

Location: Middelburg Mp

Occupation: Service Tech Global

Car: Fortuner 3L D4D 4x4

Level: 48 [?]

Experience: 8,468,500

Next Level: 8,476,240

  • Send private message

3

Saturday, January 2nd 2016, 6:04pm

racechip,dastek,dieseltorque,unichip..


Welcome to the forum
They all do the same thing. Not sure about the improvements on the 2.5

I chose the unichip because it was cheaper was supplied by SAC which is a well known supplier and also because it was set on a dyno.

JAN (JVG) will be able to explain exactly how diesel torque works

Jakes can also give you some advise on the chips :vain:
WIE PROBEER EN MISKIEN MISLUK IS BETER AS IEMAND WAT GLAD NIE PROBEER EN ALTYD MISLUK

:popcorn:

RRR

Professional

Posts: 815

Date of registration: Mar 20th 2014

Location: Centurion

Occupation: Project Damager

Car: Fortuner 09 3.0 D4D 4x4

Level: 39 [?]

Experience: 1,590,878

Next Level: 1,757,916

  • Send private message

4

Saturday, January 2nd 2016, 11:11pm

do u tow a caravan?
09 FT 3.0 D4D 4x4

Good people don't go to heaven, BELIEVERS do!

smitfs32

Beginner

  • "smitfs32" started this thread

Posts: 2

Date of registration: Jan 2nd 2016

Location: Cape Town

Car: Fortuner 2.5

Level: 12 [?]

Experience: 2,598

Next Level: 2,912

  • Send private message

5

Sunday, January 3rd 2016, 6:30pm

thanks for reply. no caravan towing yet.
found on 110km/h in 4th gear trying to overtake when needed to be a bit tuff.. just wanting extra bit power when needed. overall happy

Posts: 4,263

Date of registration: Feb 13th 2014

Location: Middelburg Mp

Occupation: Service Tech Global

Car: Fortuner 3L D4D 4x4

Level: 48 [?]

Experience: 8,468,500

Next Level: 8,476,240

  • Send private message

6

Sunday, January 3rd 2016, 8:56pm

thanks for reply. no caravan towing yet.
found on 110km/h in 4th gear trying to overtake when needed to be a bit tuff.. just wanting extra bit power when needed. overall happy

Contact Dastec or one of the many SAC workshops they will be able to give you feedback you looking at R3500 & upwards
WIE PROBEER EN MISKIEN MISLUK IS BETER AS IEMAND WAT GLAD NIE PROBEER EN ALTYD MISLUK

:popcorn:

Garreth G

Professional

Posts: 769

Date of registration: Oct 5th 2015

Location: West-Rand

Car: Toyota Fortuner 3.0 D-4D Isuzu KB320 Frontier

Level: 37 [?]

Experience: 1,067,712

Next Level: 1,209,937

  • Send private message

7

Monday, January 4th 2016, 9:46pm

There is no chip other than unichip by dastek. I would not recommend a plug and pay chip. It's not worth it and gains per rand spent is not worth it.
Unichip is your best band for buck and is tuned to your motor. You can also have the unichip tuned with multiple maps. So a towing map, eco map and a hi power map.
You can get a single map unichip loaded at SAC for R2500 when on special.

Posts: 4,263

Date of registration: Feb 13th 2014

Location: Middelburg Mp

Occupation: Service Tech Global

Car: Fortuner 3L D4D 4x4

Level: 48 [?]

Experience: 8,468,500

Next Level: 8,476,240

  • Send private message

8

Tuesday, January 5th 2016, 5:27am

Gareth

What is the power delivery on the 3 diffrent settings and how do you change it from one to another
WIE PROBEER EN MISKIEN MISLUK IS BETER AS IEMAND WAT GLAD NIE PROBEER EN ALTYD MISLUK

:popcorn:

Jakes

Sage

Posts: 3,521

Date of registration: Jul 12th 2013

Location: Kimberley

Occupation: Regional Manager

Car: Wish I had a Fortuner 3.0 d4d 4 x 4

Level: 48 [?]

Experience: 7,756,391

Next Level: 8,476,240

  • Send private message

9

Tuesday, January 5th 2016, 8:19am

Gareth
Is the Unichip a permanent installation?
Nothing is forever..... good or bad.

Posts: 4,263

Date of registration: Feb 13th 2014

Location: Middelburg Mp

Occupation: Service Tech Global

Car: Fortuner 3L D4D 4x4

Level: 48 [?]

Experience: 8,468,500

Next Level: 8,476,240

  • Send private message

10

Tuesday, January 5th 2016, 8:31am

The harness on my FT is soldered in but I can remove the chip and replace that with bridge peace

Also unichip
WIE PROBEER EN MISKIEN MISLUK IS BETER AS IEMAND WAT GLAD NIE PROBEER EN ALTYD MISLUK

:popcorn:

Jakes

Sage

Posts: 3,521

Date of registration: Jul 12th 2013

Location: Kimberley

Occupation: Regional Manager

Car: Wish I had a Fortuner 3.0 d4d 4 x 4

Level: 48 [?]

Experience: 7,756,391

Next Level: 8,476,240

  • Send private message

11

Tuesday, January 5th 2016, 8:40am

Well therein lies your answer.
If you vehicle is under warranty then you can't fit a permanent installation.

The Race Chip Pro 2 is removable and can also be adjusted for towing and various other settings.
Nothing is forever..... good or bad.

Posts: 4,263

Date of registration: Feb 13th 2014

Location: Middelburg Mp

Occupation: Service Tech Global

Car: Fortuner 3L D4D 4x4

Level: 48 [?]

Experience: 8,468,500

Next Level: 8,476,240

  • Send private message

12

Tuesday, January 5th 2016, 9:49am

But the Unichip also comes with a plug and play unit
WIE PROBEER EN MISKIEN MISLUK IS BETER AS IEMAND WAT GLAD NIE PROBEER EN ALTYD MISLUK

:popcorn:

Wave

Intermediate

Posts: 316

Date of registration: Jan 22nd 2014

Location: Edenvale

Occupation: Main Squeeza @ NF Additives

Car: '09 Fortuner 3.0 D4D 4x4 (M)

Level: 34 [?]

Experience: 634,853

Next Level: 677,567

  • Send private message

13

Monday, January 11th 2016, 9:22am

I had the Unichip Q4 installed in Dec, I opted for the plug and play version, very easy to remove if need be.
'09 Toyota Fortuner 3.0 D-4D 4x4 (M)
'14 VW Polo 1.2 TSI HL (SWAMBOs)
'10 Conqueror Comfort
4x4 Action Group member #0074

Garreth G

Professional

Posts: 769

Date of registration: Oct 5th 2015

Location: West-Rand

Car: Toyota Fortuner 3.0 D-4D Isuzu KB320 Frontier

Level: 37 [?]

Experience: 1,067,712

Next Level: 1,209,937

  • Send private message

14

Tuesday, January 12th 2016, 12:51am

This the same wave on 4x4 Community that has a polo tdi?

Wave

Intermediate

Posts: 316

Date of registration: Jan 22nd 2014

Location: Edenvale

Occupation: Main Squeeza @ NF Additives

Car: '09 Fortuner 3.0 D4D 4x4 (M)

Level: 34 [?]

Experience: 634,853

Next Level: 677,567

  • Send private message

15

Tuesday, January 12th 2016, 8:35am

It is
'09 Toyota Fortuner 3.0 D-4D 4x4 (M)
'14 VW Polo 1.2 TSI HL (SWAMBOs)
'10 Conqueror Comfort
4x4 Action Group member #0074

Similar threads

Rate this thread